Freeport Area students succeed at PJAS competition


It is with great pride that we announce the names of the Freeport Area High School and Middle School students whose work was recognized at the Pittsburgh Junior Academy of Science (PJAS) competition held on February 23 at Slippery Rock University.  In all, 26 Freeport Area School District students from grades 7-12 participated, with overwhelming success.  The competition winners will move on to the state competition to be held at Penn State University in May.  Many thanks to Mrs. Savage and Mr. Orlowski for putting in hundreds of hours to help ensure our students' success in the competition, and to our parents for their unwavering and vital support. 


PJAS is a statewide organization of junior and senior high school students designed to stimulate and promote interest in science among its members through the development of research projects and investigations.  PJAS is sponsored by the Pennsylvania Academy of Science with the following objectives:  to promote greater participation in science and mathematics activities among the youth of Pennsylvania; to improve the quality of achievement in mathematics and science by encouraging students to participate in research and develop original ideas; to develop an understanding of the scientific community through close association with leaders in the sciences; to seek the improvement of science clubs activities through the cooperative regional and state meetings; to inculcate among its members true scientific attitudes and humanistic ideals that shall lead to the greater development of service to man.








9th Grade

Elsie Lindsay
1st Place (PERFECT SCORE!), Slippery Rock University Junior High Biological Science Award 

Colton Mell
1st Place

10th Grade

Maggie Hollobaugh
1st Place, Biochemistry Region Director's Award

11th Grade

Liam Dress
2nd Place

Jordan Fischer
1st Place

Eli Lindsay
1st Place

Nicholas Mattivi
2nd Place

Madison Ravotti
1st Place

12th Grade

David Kinniburgh
1st Place, Earth and Space Region Director's Award

John Zurisko
1st Place





8th Grade

Anita Bhat
1st Place, Behavioral Science Region Director's Award

Anand Bhat
1st Place

Colton Brenneman
1st Place 

Olivia Giancola
1st Place

Natalie Golgan
1st Place

Hadley Hellgren
1st Place

Jesse Hilko
1st Place

James Hower
1st Place

Ethan Rapp
1st Place

Grace Seita
1st Place

Lexi Vaklick
1st Place

Elise Whitlinger
2nd Place

Aiden Williams
1st Place


7th Grade

Audrey Gregori
1st Place (PERFECT SCORE!), Biology Region Director's Award

Anne Lindsay
1st Place (PERFECT SCORE!), Microbiology Region Director's Award

Erin Schaeffer
1st Place


PJAS winners


Congratulations to all of our winners!!




Back to School News      Print News Article